The Luminale

Concept

The Luminale Festival of Light has been held in Frankfurt and Offenbach every two years since 2002. Founded as a supporting program for Light + Building, the world's leading trade fair for lighting and building technology, it is now one of the most popular events with over 200,000 visitors* and a fixed point in the cultural life of the Rhine-Main region.

Foto: © Oliver Blum

Welcome to the Luminale!

 

In its ninth edition, the Luminale 2018 presents a completely renewed concept. As a biennial for light art and urban design, it lights up the streets, squares and houses of the city - in addition to this and beyond, topical questions of urban development also form the focus of its content. The Luminale sees urban design as a complex task for the future in the conflicting areas between economy and ecology, architecture and technology, science and politics. And it also brings together experts and citizens from different fields for debate and conversation.

 

The Luminale enlightens and illuminates - For the first time, the biennale’s extensive program will unfold in five categories, each with its own focal point: selected positions on theme-related light art inART; lectures and talks with renowned experts*in SOLUTIONS; projects by universities and other educational institutes in STUDY, as well as self-organized and initiated contributions from various fields in COMMUNITY. Finally, the BETTER CITY category is devoted to all projects that are permanently preserved in the city and thus contribute to the sustainability of the entire festival.

The Festival Center

For six days, from 18th to 23rd March, 2018, the Luminale will be based at the Instituto Cervantes.

 

Since 2008, the Spanish Cultural Center has been located in the former Amerika-Haus (America House) on the edge of Rothschildpark, not far from the Old Opera House. With its bright, inviting architecture, it offers the ideal setting for lectures, talks and screenings, to which the Luminale invites experts* from the Solutions program every evening.

 

A highlight: The theme day "Light and City" (22.3.) with the international symposium "City Light", in cooperation with the Frankfurt University of Applied Sciences. The Festival Center is a meeting place for all Luminale enthusiasts and an ideal starting point for a stroll along the Light Walk. At the same time, current works by artists Daliah Ziper and Yvonne Klasen from the Luminale's light art program are on display.

Committee of curators

In the evaluation of projects proposals submitted for the ART category, the Luminale team is supported by an interdisciplinary committee of curators. The following curators are members of the committee:

 

DAVID BRÜLL
Founder and Festival Director of NODE Forum for Digital Arts, Frankfurt am Main

DR. MARKUS HÄFNER
Head of Public Relations for the Institute of Town History Frankfurt am Main

ANDREA JÜRGES
Deputy Director Deutsches Architekturmuseum (German Architecture Museum), Frankfurt am Main

PROF. MISCHA KUBALL
Artist, Professor at the Academy of Media Arts, Cologne

 

MATTHIAS WAGNER K
Director of the Museum of Applied Arts, Frankfurt am Main

HENDRIK WENDLER
Festival director, Genius Loci, Weimar

PETER ZIZKA
Designer and artist, Frankfurt am Main und Berlin

The association Luminale e. V.

The association Luminale e. V. was founded in June 2017 as a non-profit organization to promote and organize the Luminale as a "Biennial for Light Art and Urban Design".

 

Frankfurt-Rhine-Main is a region with international appeal: European cultural metropolis, creative and digital hub, symbol of European cooperation and cradle of German democracy. Architecture and urban design, not only in Frankfurt, offer an opportunity to discuss the future of the region.

The non-profit association Luminale e. V. was founded in June 2017 and promotes and organizes the Biennial for Light Art and Urban Design.

 

In particular, it seeks to support artists and creative people in the realization of their creative works within the framework of the event. Founding the association was a major cornerstone in securing the event’s future.

Our goal: A broad community of citizens and institutions shall put the Luminale on a solid foundation and fix it as a beacon in the region’s cultural calendar.

Partners

Initiator and major supporter of the Luminale is the Messe Frankfurt GmbH.


 

 

It breathed life into the Luminale in 2002, with the goal of attracting such trade fair topics as Light, Design and Architecture and building a bridge between the trade fair centre and the city.

Projektbüro

Members of the Luminal team:

 

ISA REKKAB
Management

THOMAS BERKERMANN
Technical Advice

TONIA BÜRKLE
Projektmanagement

LISA ERWALL
Graphic design

RAINER EWERRIEN
Program

EIKE FLECHSIG 
Coordinator Festival Center

MARK GLÄSER
Regie Festival Center

VANJA GRASS
Production Assistent

 

 

PIA KRAMER
Graphic design

BENJAMIN PFEIFER
Project Assistent

RUTH PREYWISCH
Web, Social Media

HEIKE SÜTTER
Program

SUSANNE TENZLER-HEUSLER
Public Relation

FRANK WUDTKE
IT Advice

ANNIKA ZECHER
Program Design

Die Luminale

Konzept

Das Lichtfestival Luminale findet seit 2002 alle zwei Jahre in Frankfurt und Offenbach statt. Gegründet als Rahmenprogramm zur Light + Building, der Weltleitmesse für Licht und Gebäudetechnik, zählt es heute mit über 200.000 Besucher*innen zu den beliebtesten Veranstaltungen und bildet einen der Fixpunkte im kulturellen Leben der Region Rhein-Main.

 

 

Foto:  © Oliver Blum

Willkommen zur Luminale!

 

In ihrer neunten Ausgabe präsentiert sich die Luminale 2018 mit einem rundum erneuerten Konzept. Als Biennale für Lichtkunst und Stadtgestaltung bringt sie die Straßen, Plätze und Häuser der Stadt zum Leuchten – daneben und darüber hinaus bilden aktuelle Fragen der Stadtentwicklung auch den inhaltlichen Fokus. Die Luminale begreift Stadtgestaltung als komplexe Zukunftsaufgabe im Spannungsfeld von Wirtschaft und Ökologie, Architektur und Technik, Wissenschaft und Politik. Und bringt Fachleute und Bürger*innen aus unterschiedlichen Bereichen miteinander ins Gespräch.

 

Die Luminale leuchtet und beleuchtet – Erstmals entfaltet sich das umfangreiche Programm der Biennale in fünf Sektionen mit je eigenem Schwerpunkt: ausgewählte Positionen themenbezogener Lichtkunst in ART, Vorträge und Talks mit renommierten Expert*innen in SOLUTIONS, Projekte von Hochschulen und anderen Bildungseinrichtungen in STUDY sowie selbstorganisierte und initiierte Beiträge aus verschiedenen Feldern in COMMUNITY Schließlich ist der Bereich BETTER CITY all jenen Projekten gewidmet, die der Stadt dauerhaft erhalten bleiben und somit auch einen Beitrag zur Nachhaltigkeit des gesamten Festivals leisten.

Festivalzentrum

Für sechs Tage, vom 18. bis zum 23. März 2018, bezieht die Luminale im „Instituto Cervantes“ Quartier.

 

Seit 2008 befindet sich das spanische Kulturzentrum im ehemaligen Amerika-Haus am Rand des Rothschildparks unweit der Alten Oper. 2018 feiert es als Festivalzentrum Luminale-Premiere: Mit seiner hellen, einladenden Architektur bietet es den idealen Rahmen für Vorträge, Talks und Screenings, zu denen die Luminale im Programmbereich Solutions allabendlich Expert*innen und Bürger*innen einlädt.

 

Ein Highlight: Der Thementag „Licht und Stadt“ (22.3.) mit dem internationalen Symposium „Stadtlicht“ in Kooperation mit der Frankfurt University of Applied Sciences. Das Festivalzentrum ist Treffpunkt für alle Luminale-Begeisterten und idealer Ausgangspunkt für einen Spaziergang über den Light Walk. Gleichzeitig sind aktuelle Arbeiten der Künstlerinnen Daliah Ziper und Yvonne Klasen aus dem Lichtkunstprogramm der Luminale zu sehen.

Kuratorium

Ein interdisziplinär besetztes Kuratorium unterstützt das Luminale-Team bei der Bewertung der eingehenden Projektvorschläge in der Kategorie ART. Dem Kuratorium gehören folgende Mitglieder an:

 

DAVID BRÜLL
Gründer und Leiter des NODE Forum for Digital Arts
Frankfurt am Main

DR. MARKUS HÄFNER
Leiter Public Relations Institut für Stadtgeschichte
Frankfurt am Main

ANDREA JÜRGES
Stellv. Direktorin Deutsches Architekturmuseum
Frankfurt am Main

PROF. MISCHA KUBALL
Künstler, Professor Kunsthochschule für Medien
Köln

 

MATTHIAS WAGNER K
Direktor Museum Angewandte Kunst
Frankfurt am Main

HENDRIK WENDLER
Leiter Genius Loci Festival
Weimar

PETER ZIZKA
Designer und Künstler
Frankfurt am Main und Berlin

Der Luminale e.V.

Der Verein Luminale e.V. hat sich im Juni 2017 als gemeinnützige Organisation gegründet, um die Luminale als „Biennale für Lichtkunst und Stadtgestaltung“ zu fördern und zu organisieren.

 

Frankfurt-Rhein-Main ist eine Region mit internationaler Strahlkraft: Europäische Kulturmetropole, creative und digital hub, Sinnbild europäischer Zusammenarbeit sowie Wiege deutscher Demokratie. Architektur und Stadtgestaltung, nicht nur in Frankfurt, bieten Möglichkeit, den Diskurs über die Zukunft der Region zu führen.

Der gemeinnützige Verein Luminale e.V. wurde im Juni 2017 gegründet und fördert und organisiert die Biennale für Lichtkunst nd Stadtgestaltung.

 

Er möchte insbesondere Künstler und Kreative bei der Umsetzung kreativer Werke im Rahmen der Veranstaltung unterstützen. Mit der Vereinsgründung wird ein wichtiger Grundstein für die Zukunft der Veranstaltung gelegt. 

Unser Ziel: Eine breite Interessengemeinschaft  aus Bürgern und Institutionen soll die Luminale auf ein solides Fundament zu stellen und als Leuchtturm im Kulturkalender Region verankern.

Messe Frankfurt

Initiatorin und wesentliche Unter­stützerin der Luminale ist die Messe Frankfurt GmbH.


 

 

Begründet wurde die Luminale durch die Messe Frankfurt im Jahr 2002. Seither findet das Festival aller zwei Jahre zeitgleich zur internationalen Fachmesse Light + Building statt und wird von der Messe Frankfurt umfangreich gefördert und unterstützt.

Projektbüro

Zum Luminale-Projektbüro gehören:

 

ISA REKKAB
Leitung

THOMAS BERKERMANN
Technische Beratung

TONIA BÜRKLE
Projektmanagement

LISA ERWALL
Grafikdesign

RAINER EWERRIEN
Programmgestaltung

PIA KRAMER
Grafikdesign

 

BENJAMIN PFEIFER
Projektassistenz

RUTH PREYWISCH
Web, Social Media

HEIKE SÜTTER
Programmgestaltung

SUSANNE TENZLER-HEUSLER
Public Relation

FRANK WUDTKE
IT Beratung

ANNIKA ZECHER
Redaktionsassistenz